Love Your Heart Chakra

open your heart chakra

The 7 Week Chakra Tease

This article is the 4th in a 7 part series inviting you to take a closer look…and feel…of your energy, one chakra at a time.

Love Your Heart Chakra

We are human, and we love. Love creates so much joy, and yet it seems to inspire so much pain in our lives. How can we learn to love and to make wise choices about our relationships?  How can we learn to fully express love and choose wonderful, caring partners?

The heart chakra relates to compassion and love.  When the heart chakra is flowing and open, we feel deeply connected to everyone in our life. But when it’s obstructed, we experience loneliness and a sense of alienation.

The health of our relationships is determined by the health of our heart chakra. Relationship problems, our insecurities and needs are all regulated by the heart chakra. If we wish to enjoy satisfying and enriching relationships with people who open their heart to us in return, we can do this by balancing and enhancing the health of our heart chakra.

Location: Chest at physical heart.

Central issues: Love, unconditional love, self-love, forgiveness, relationships, intimacy, devotion, depression and loneliness.

Color: Green and pink.

Essential Oils: Sandalwood, rose, cedarwood.

Crystals and Stones: Rose quartz, emerald, jade, aventurine, malachite, rhodonite.

Orientation to self: Self-acceptance.

Goals: Stability, trust, physical health, prosperity, grounding.

Rights: To love and be loved.

Identity: Social identity

Level of relationship:  Loving relationships with significant others, with oneself and with all life.

Demon: Grief

Endocrine gland: Thymus gland.

Organs: Hearth and circulatory system, lungs, bronchial tubes, shoulders and arms, diaphragm, thymus gland, the immune system, the skin, the upper back.

Excessive: Demanding, jealousy, co-dependency, poor boundaries, overly sacrificing, possessive.

Deficient: Antisocial, withdrawn, cold, shy, critical, judgmental, intolerant, loneliness, depression, fear of intimacy and relationships, lack of empathy, narcissism, bitter.

Balanced: Compassionate, loving, self-loving, empathetic, peaceful, balanced, good immune system.

Physical Dysfunctions: Disorders of the heart, lungs, thymus, breast, arms, asthma, allergy, circulation problems, immune system deficiency, tension between shoulder blades.

Addictions: Tobacco (smoking), sugar, love, marijuana.

Traumas and Addictions: rejection, abandonment, loss, shaming, constant criticism, abuses to lower chakras, unacknowledged grief, divorce, death, conditional love, loveless environment, sexual and physical abuse, betrayal.

Spiritual challenges: To learn compassion, the value of forgiveness, unconditional love.

Healing Strategy: Self-discovery, codependency work, forgiveness, inner child work, work with arms, reaching out, taking in, breathing exercise.


“I am loved.”

“I forgive naturally and easily.”

I give and receive love freely.”

“My heart is full.”

“I welcome the difference of others.”

“It is my nature to heal.”

“I have so much to be grateful for.”

“The love that I give comes back to me many times over.”

“I am at peace.”


Affirmations are positive messages for our inner self. It is always best to make affirmations personal, so use the affirmations above which really resonate with your inner self and you may wish to also create some of your own. Spend some time each day, either silently or out loud, saying and feeling these positive messages for your heart.



Place the right palm in the center of your chest and the left hand on top of the right. Close your eyes and feel the center of your chest warm and radiant, full of energy. See this energy as an emerald green light, radiating out from the center of your heart into the rest of your body. Feel this energy flowing out into the arms and hands, and flowing back into the heart. Stay with this visualization for one to five minutes.

After you feel completely soaked with heart chakra energy, gently release the palms and turn them outwards with the elbows bent, the shoulders relaxed and the chest open. Feel or visualize the green light love energy flowing out of your palms and into the world. You can direct it towards specific loved ones in your life or to all sentient beings.

The 7 Week Chakra Tease will continue next week with the Throat Chakra.  Think communication, listening, self-expression and truth.

Until then….stay clear and breathe deeply.

In the Spirit of Clear Living,



This entry was posted in blog, body, mind, spirit and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
  • judi bechard
  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Archives